Grecos (Kingston) – Revisited with Harvey from Kingstonist!

So I am moving to Calgary! I found a job there so I will be leaving at the end of the month. I am excited about the move back but I have really enjoyed my culinary adventures in Kingston over the last 2.5 years. One of the greatest things that has happened to my blog has been the inclusion of my posts on The Kingstonist. Harvey Kirkpatrick, the founder, approached me on my blog in April 2010 and since then, my blog has received a lot more exposure and I’ve been involved in some really interesting discussion about food!

As part of The Kingstonist’s 3rd birthday, Harvey offered to give me a Kingstonist T-shirt. I said that we should do this over a meal and maybe turn it into a review. Deciding on where to eat wasn’t too hard. Despite the fact that I eat out a lot… there are still countless places that I haven’t tried.

We settled on Grecos as Harvey had never been there before. Grecos is my go-to for Greek take-out as the portion size is huge and the flavours are amazing. There is nothing that makes my call shift go faster than 2 pork skewers, a big side of potatoes with rice, bread with tzatziki, and a side salad. Yes guys, Grecos comes with THAT much food when you order delivery. It is like a shotgun to the stomach. I wrote a review about Grecos when I first came to Kingston and you can find it here.

This was the Saganaki (wedge of delicately flavoured cheese, flambeed at your table) for $7.95. I always get this dish when I go to a Greek restaurant. What can I say? I like spectacle and fire and this dish has both. This Saganaki was interesting in that it seemed to be breaded resulting in a nice crispiness to the cheese. The portion size was quite generous. I might’ve wanted it flambeed a bit longer to make the cheese a bit gooier.

Because I always order the Double Souvlaki when I am at the hospital, I had to try something else for this meal. This is the Mousaka (alternate layers of potato, eggplant, ground beef, topped with bechamel) for $10.95. You can again see how large the portions are. The rice nicely soaks up sauce while the potatoes are tart and zingy. The salad is pretty fresh and keeps the dish from being too rich, though you still feel heavy after eating all of it. The Mousaka was pretty good. The eggplant, potato, and beef was nice but I wasn’t a big fan of the bechamel. It was sort of chunky.

J didn’t feel like eating a big meal so only ordered a Chicken Pita (topped with onions, tomatoes, and tzatziki) for $5.95. I didn’t get a chance to taste it but J said it was pretty good.

Overall, Grecos remains my personal top pick for Greek in Kingston. The portions are generous and the food is good. I probably would stick with the Double Souvlaki next time, though the dishes we tried today were pretty good too. I am going to miss Kingston.

Grecos, 167 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario, www.grecos.ca

Grecos Grill & Wine Bar on Urbanspoon

~ by Russ on March 13, 2011.

8 Responses to “Grecos (Kingston) – Revisited with Harvey from Kingstonist!”

  1. It’ll be great when you return to Calgary, I’m interested in what reviews you will do when you are back.

    • Believe me, there are a lot of places I want to eat in Calgary. I already have a list. But the question is: do I write as A Glutton in Kingston? Or should I change my name?

  2. Will miss you in Kingston. I agree with 95% of your choices so I feel that our food objectives are similar. Good luck and visit us soon.

    • Haha, glad you and I see things alike. My tastes are pretty low brow but things I like, I realllly like!

  3. Congrats with the new job in Calgary! Good luck with the move. Hope you won’t be gone for too long. Any ideas what you’ll do to celebrate your last few days in Kingston?

    • I dunno if I’d say I was celebrating my past few days in Kingston. I am so sad to go! But I am working on a bucket-list of things to eat before I go. I’ll probably write that post as my last one as “A glutton in Kingston”.

  4. What a pleasure it was to have you join Kingstonist’s team. Thank you once again for allowing your reviews to be shared with our readers.

    Oh Grecos! I had dreams about the Saganaki on Saturday night. Aside from the spectacle that is a flaming plate of cheese, I really enjoyed this dish. I found that it had a nice saltiness to it. My main course, Souvlaki plate, was a great portion for the price. While I find Greek food to be a bit of a carbo-overload, it certainly is a treat that I don’t mind indulging once in a while.

    Best of luck to you and J. I will certainly tune into your blog wherever you end up. And of course, please look us up if/when you’re ever in Kingston.

    • I continue to be backlogged. I am going to try to get Niji and Megalos out before the end of the month!

Leave a Reply

