Munich, Germany

Our last stop in Germany was Munich. Sadly, there appear to be 2 rules in Munich: 1) Food cannot be served all at once. Food is served as it is made and sometimes up to 15 minutes can lapse before all people at the table have their meals; and 2) Food can only be lukewarm. Disappointing.

First stop in Munich was to the Chinesischer Turm (Chinese Tower), the city’s best-known beer garden within the Englischer Garten (English Garden). Interestingly, on our way to the beer garden, we were graced with the view of a man’s penis. Yes, the English Gardens are periodically used by nudists to sun tan or just to romp around in. Sadly, only males. I guess the mentality is : “I’ll show first”. I don’t think the women fell for it.

 

Here is the tower.

 

In Munich, beers come popularly in two sizes, 1L and 500mL. I don’t have enough alcohol dehydrogenase in my body so I can only tolerate 500mL before getting tanked.

 

1 hour later, the beer was done and my stumbling began. Thank Gods (bsg reference) that that I didn’t stumble over any male nudists.

 

Here a pretzel you can get for 3.50 Euro = $5.60CAN. Chewy, doughy, and a bit hard. The grains of salt were huge and made me salivate like crazy. Not a great pretzel but very VERY necessary to keep me sober.

 

 

For dinner, we hit up Augustiner-Grossgaststatte or the Augustiner Bierhalle relatively close to the popular Marienplatz. I decided to try some regional food which is supposed to be quite good here.

 

Here is the sign. We sat outside and listened to a string quartet play in the background (buskers on the street). Oh, how I love Munich.

 

This is Leberkas (liver cheese). It isn’t made of liver and there is no cheese. The name comes from its shape. It was only luke warm but it was hearty and fairly filling. It was spongy, salty, and without any recognizable meat flavour (if I had to guess, I’d guess mostly pork). I only wish they could’ve fried it up and caramelized the edges. Not a bad price at 4.90 Euro = $7.84CAN.

 

I kind of assumed that Minced Pork meant minced and fried pork. I was wrong to assume. Here it is. Two pieces of rye, red onions, lettuce, a pickle, a tomato, and oh yes, two ice cream scoops of raw ground pork. I wasn’t sure what to do. I thought of the possible things I could get with pork and made the conclusion that if I had to eat raw ground anything, I would choose pork. So I went for it.

 

It wasn’t half bad. It wasn’t good either. It kind of reminded me of the first time I had sushi. Who knows, maybe in a few years, I’ll be a pork sashimi kind of guy. Here is how I made the pork more palatable: rye + onion + raw pork + dollop of mustard. Not half bad. This item was on the pricey side considering how much meat you get: 7 Euro = $11.20CAN. Sadly, I was too much of a prude to really enjoy it.

 This food experience was unique but it did suffer heavily from the two rules I mentioned above: big wait time between the delivery of everyone’s food and the food only being luke-warm. I am not sure if I will return. The ambience was great though but it was due to the street buskers.

Augustiner Grossgaststatte, Neuhauser Str. 27, Munich, no website.

 

The following day, we headed to the Hofbrauhaus, the most celebrated and well known beer hall in Munich.

 

During the day, it looks quiet and respectable.

 

At night it gets crazy, rowdy, and has pulsating music from a live oompa band. It was really quite fun but a bit loud. These empty benches were pretty far from the oompa action.

 

This is the Original Hofbrauhaus mixed sausage plattern [sic]. It contains Vienna and pork sausages, grill-sausage, sauerkraut and mashed potatoes. The sausages were a bit underwhelming. Salty and meaty. I can’t really say more. The Vienna sausages were different from the formed meat Vienna sausages you can get in Canada from Maple Leaf Foods. It was a great value at 7.30 Euro = $11.68CAN.

Hofbrauhaus was quite the experience but I think I’ll stick to the beer next time I go.

Hofbrauhaus, Am Platzl 9, Munich, www.hofbraeuhaus.de

 

Our last meal in Munich was at the Weisses Brauhaus, a place famous for its Weisswurst (veal sausage). The beers that we had there were…interesting. I am no conneseur but they reminded me of Franziskaner and Hoegaarden beers. I personally don’t like dark sour beers and these beers were just that, dark, sour, and full of flavour. I much prefer the beer in Cologne: cool, light, and fairly tasteless!

 

I was pretty hungry so I had the Bavarian Peasant’s Feast. It included pickled pork (in the background), roasted pork (in the foreground), a bratwurst (in the middle), sauerkraut, and semmelknodel (white bread dumpling). This was a delicious meal. I loved the roasted pork. Nothing beats crispy skin and fatty dark pork meat. The bratwurst was pretty average. The pickled pork was quite bizarre. I almost would’ve thought it was smoked. The white bread dumpling was a bit difficult to eat. Lots of starch, very gummy, and fairly flavourless. As a rule, I never leave food on my plate but I just couldn’t finish it! It was a lot of food but it cost quite a bit: 11.90 Euro = $19.04CAN.

I would love to come back to this establishment to try some other meats including Schneider’s Aventinus beer roast and the sucking pig roast.

Weisses Brauhaus, Im Tal 10, Munich, www.weisses-brauhaus.de

 

~ by Russ on June 6, 2008.

2 Responses to “Munich, Germany”

  1. tsk tsk given where you went, I’m not surprised at your review of the food and service! True, one cannot be expected to be able to research the best places to eat in all ports of call on a trip, but if you go to tourist traps, you’re going to be served tourist slop. At least you made it to one ok place: Weisses Brauhaus (also a good place for a Weisswurst breakfast). If you come back to Munich, be sure to check on Chowhound for ideas of where to go. 🙂

  2. Hi Megan,

    I really wish I chowhounded before I went to each German city but unfortunately, there just wasn’t enough time/internet access! I did like Weisses Brauhaus but the food there was lukewarm. I hate it when I get lukewarm food. Perhaps I was just unlucky. You live in a very lovely city Megan!

Leave a Reply

