Boogie’s Burgers (Calgary) – I can’t believe it took me so long to get here.

Now that J is in the industry, she is more in the know. She hears of restaurants popping up, she talks about which chef moves where. She also knows lots about burgers now. So one lazy Sunday afternoon, after a relatively brief session at the gym, we made it to Boogie’s Burgers. I can’t believe it took me so long to get here. This place was fantastic. The worst part about it: it isn’t a new place…. it is a Calgary staple. It just goes to show that you can live in a city for 25 years and there are still classic places you’ve never been to. Apparently, the original owners, who bought the place from the guys that started Peter’s Drive in, sold the place in 2000 to the present owners. It is pretty cool that there is such a burger lineage in Calgary.


I love the colour theme in this place. It just visually jumps at you. Then add some classic video games (including Pac Man and Street Fighter 2 Championship Edition) and you have a place that reminds me of where I used to go for lunch when I was in junior high. Ahh the Pac Man machine in particular really brings me back. I can recall eating pizza and dropping pepporoni pieces on the Pac Man screen. Gross.

These spicy fries are delicious. Cheap too at $2.5. They remind me of the fries you get at Arby’s… but they aren’t curly. The seasoning is delicious and there is a nice crispiness to them.

This is the Shawn’s Burger with 3 patties, 2 slices of bacon, cheddar, a fried egg, Boogie’s signature red sauce and all the fixings for $10. This thing is massive. And delicious.

Here is the cross-sectional view. It is amazing. The beef is nicely seasoned without being too oily. Don’t kid yourself, you are eating a ton of oil here… but at least it doesn’t feel that oily. The egg is a nice touch but I wish it was a bit gooier. The cheese is sharp and the bacon very nicely crunch and salty. This burger destroys Rocky’s Burger Bus.

This is the Keith’s burger (two patties, four slices of bacon, mozza, cheddar, fried mushrooms, fried onions, mushroom sauce, pizza sauce and all the fixings) for $10. This was also delicious but the pizza sauce was a bit overpowering. I thought it would be a good idea… but in the end… if I felt like pizza, I would have gotten pizza. The pizza/burger combo doesn’t synergize as well as I thought it would.

Overall, I am embarrassed to say that I have been in the dark about Boogie’s Burgers for years. That is going to change. I am coming here weekly. If my gut can afford it.

Boogie’s Burgers, 908 Edmonton Trail Northeast Calgary, AB T2E 3K1, (403) 230-7070, boogiesburgers.com
Boogie's Burgers on Urbanspoon

~ by Russ on March 24, 2012.

One Response to “Boogie’s Burgers (Calgary) – I can’t believe it took me so long to get here.”

  1. Oh man. I can only dream of such burgers here in Australia! YUM.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers