Taj Curry House (Kingston) – Flavours didn’t jump and it could use a meat injection

Darbar was closed for a week when I was having a wicked Indian craving. Rahim’s wouldn’t answer my calls. Curry Original was too expensive. I was stuck. I checked out the Kingstonist’s poll and decided to try out Taj Curry House given its third place ranking. I typically order delivery when I get Indian as I am always irritated by how much they charge for naan and rice. Also, when I inevitably sweat, I can change my shirt at home.
This is the Chicken Tikka Masala (medium spicy curry cooked with extra yogurt, fenugreek leaves and other spices) for $12.95. As you can see, there are a total of maybe 7-8 small pieces of chicken. The chicken was texturally quite tough, almost artificially so. However, it did have quite a bit of smokey flavour.


Whether or not this is a good thing… I use Darbar’s Vindaloo as the baseline for all vindaloo. I just really really like their balance of heat, tartness, sweetness, and saltiness. I also love wiping my face down after I eat it. This is the Lamb Vindaloo from Taj (Very, very spicy curry cooked with lemon juice, potato, extra-a-a-a-a red chilies and spices) for $13.95. Again, there is no meat! I count 6 small pieces. The price was pretty steep for such little lamb… There was also a lonely potato. The heat was there but it just didn’t satisfy the way that Darbar’s vindaloo does. The flavours didn’t pop as much as I would have liked.
This is the Beef Ragan Josh (A medium spicy curry cooked with many spices, garnished with sliced tomato sautéed in clarified butter) for $11.95. This was a nicely balanced dish. There was enough meat, some tomatoes but what I loved was how buttery it was. I like my curry really hot but for a milder curry, this was really satisfying.

A close-up of the Tikka Masala on rice.

Disclaimer: I am not a connoisseur of Indian food so my palate may be a little “Western” but when I like something, I really like it. Overall, I wouldn’t order Taj Curry again. Maybe their in-house portions are more generous but for the price, I found the paucity of meat a little much. I found the flavours a little muted and at the end of the night… my curry craving was not satisfied.

Taj Curry House, 125 Princess st, Kingston, ON, (613) 531-0825, www.tajcurryhouse.ca

Taj Curry House on Urbanspoon

~ by Russ on April 1, 2011.

4 Responses to “Taj Curry House (Kingston) – Flavours didn’t jump and it could use a meat injection”

  1. I enjoyed Taj while I was in Kingston, but I never did try the dishes you ordered. We found that we liked the aloo gobi, saag paneer, and lamb dansak in our first visit, so we didn’t venture far from those dishes. If you do give it another chance and decide to eat in, the service is very friendly and almost familial – much like Sima Sushi.

    • When I go back, I’ll definitely order what you recommend! I do love places that are very family-based, a la Sima so I would be up for giving it another shot! Thanks for the tip Lucy!

  2. Have you tried the new healthy indian takeout on Princess called Tandoori Sizzle? It’s fresh, healthy and absolutely delicious!!! Some of the best Indian food I have ever tried.

    • Yup, I’ve tried it, and man was it over priced. It was crazy. 50 bucks left me and a buddy starving. Glad I only went once.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers