The French Baker (Ottawa) – A truly decadent croissant

Each time I do a rotation in Ottawa, I make a point of visiting The French Baker for a croissant. Their croissants have become somewhat of a local legend, especially given their traditional techniques and their use of a seriously epic amount of butter. I was watching some local TV and saw them cutting the butter for their croissants… each cut was like a 1/2 inch thick. It is located just off Byward Market (I keep raving about this area but it is pretty amazing).

Here it is. Long shape. There is supposed to be a story about why it is long and not crescent shaped but I can’t recall the story.

Here we have broken it apart in the middle. The centre is so tender and delicate. The outside is crisp and just a little salty. Really a fantastic croissant.

These are some other treats that we picked up. In the foreground is a pecan tart. The crust and pecans were just a bit too soft but I really enjoyed that the tart was not too sweet (as they usually tend to be elsewhere). I liked the lemon tart better (background). Very tart, sweet, and smooth. The crust was firm but crumbled with gentle pressure. It was also just lightly salty. In this photo is also a Fleur De Sel caramel and a Pistachio Macaroon both of which were quite tasty.

The French Baker is a great place for a croissant, a coffee (Illy), and a refreshing treat. The fact that their croissants are almost always sold out speaks volumes about its popularity in the community. I will continue to come here every time I am in Ottawa! I LOVE BUTTER!!!

The French Baker, 119 Murray St., (613) 789-6797, www.frenchbaker.ca

The french baker on Urbanspoon

~ by Russ on March 6, 2010.

5 Responses to “The French Baker (Ottawa) – A truly decadent croissant”

  1. Wow! My mouth is watering just by looking at the photos. I have never been to The French Baker in Ottawa considering the fact that I’ve visited Ottawa numerous times! I will definitely check out The French Baker this summer while on holiday. :)

  2. Also, I have added your blog to my blogroll. I absolutely adore your zeal for food and culture. ;)

  3. I have one question: how can you only buy one croissant?

    For some reason, I’ve never visited The French Baker. People have been raving about this place for a while, but I keep forgetting to drop in whenever I’m down in the Byward market. Thanks for the reminder!

    • I only buy one croissant by buying a lot of OTHER PASTRIES. It would be silly to buy 20 croissants if I was given the choice of lemon tarts, cakes, eclaires, etc etc. You have to check it out Christine. It is really quite divine. Make sure you check out Benny’s Bistro too (right behind it).

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers