Benny’s Bistro (Ottawa) – Happy to wait 2 hours for brunch

My last day in Ottawa. Sad to leave J behind. Decided to go for brunch. Strolled into Benny’s Bistro (attached to The French Baker) at 12pm on Sunday. I thought I would get a seat. That was a dumb thought. I ended up getting a seat at 2pm (after doing some shopping). It was worth the wait. The service isn’t great (just too few servers that are overworked for too long) but the food is quite remarkable.

The Savoury Buckwheat Pancake (double smoked pork shoulder, shaved Gruyere, sunnyside egg, apple and Savoy cabbage remoulade) for $15. Simply amazing. The pancake was savoury, rich, and full of flavour. The pork shoulder was nicely smoked and added some nice colour to the dish. The cabbage remoulade gave it some great texture, especially with the runny yolk from the egg. Really quite tasty (though a bit on the pricy side).

A photo of the inside. The pork shoulder is so pink! I love how the pancake was just slightly crispy.

This is the Aged white cheddar stuffed French toast, roasted Royal Gala apple compote, brown butter oat crumble, salted caramel for $14. An interesting dish. A mix of sweet, salty, with soft toasted highlights and bits of crunchiness. I’ve never had salty French toast before so this was really quite an adventure.

It was worth the wait. I really enjoyed Benny’s Bistro for brunch. I only wish that the poor servers would be given more breaks. They looked soooo tired after 3 hours of lunch service.

Benny’s Bistro, 119 Murray St, Ottawa, ON, (613) 789-6797, www.bennysbistro.ca

Benny's Bistro on Urbanspoon

~ by Russ on March 6, 2010.

2 Responses to “Benny’s Bistro (Ottawa) – Happy to wait 2 hours for brunch”

  1. I’m not a huge breakfast person, but I’ll let Lucy know. Maybe I’ll come for lunch/dinner though.

  2. This looks delicious!! I wish that I could try it. -pleasefeedme.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers