Maruju Sushi (Calgary) – Reasonable… but no Shikiji

A friend recommended Maruju for the “best ramen she has had”, especially the pork chop ramen, and to especially ask for the pork bone stock (instead of the soy or miso stock). I usually trust her opinion (as she was the one who introduced me to Dairy Lane) but her last recommendation was Mohi Matal which I didn’t love.

IMG_9729

Here it is. The pork chop ramen for $9.95 + $1.00 for the pork bone soup add-on. My criteria for great ramen is 1) well cooked noodles, 2) salty and umami soup base, 3) fatty meat, 4) maybe some vegetables. Based on my criteria… this ramen is only good, not great. The noodles were well cooked, not too chewy, not too soft. The pork chop was deep fried and salty but I didn’t really taste a lot more flavour than that. Also, I am more of a traditional person and prefer fatty pork loin versus a deep fried cutlet. The soup… well… it was tasty but again, it was just salty and did not have the Umami flavour that I crave in ramen. I much preferred the ramen at Shikiji or Wa’s (reviewed here).

IMG_9719

I tried out their sushi too and it was fairly tame. Nothing exciting. Not horrible either. A touch on the warm side. Here are three pieces of toro and a tuna roll.

I probably won’t come back to Maruju. My friend will hate me but I guess we’ll just have to settle it with a back to back ramen showdown.

Maruju Sushi. 919 Centre St. NW Calgary, AB T2E 2P6, 403-276 -8008, no website.

Maruju Sushi on Urbanspoon

~ by Russ on September 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers