Seoul Korean BBQ (Calgary) – Best Korean I’ve had in Calgary

I’ll be the first to say that I don’t have a great Korean food palate. It took me a long time to like kimchi. But with a two friends who have dated Korean girls, my fondness for Korean food continues to increase.

Seoul Korean BBQ has been around for 2-3 years now and what impresses me is how many Korean people actually eat there. I personally can’t tell that they are Korean but my buddy can (based upon their language). It is an expansive BBQ house that has extremely good ventilation. For how much Korean BBQ that goes on, it doesn’t smell too bad and isn’t too hot.

Their Korean BBQ really is a stellar deal. For $69.99, you get 3 domestic beer,  a beef salad (salad with some cool beef strips), bulgogi japche (rice noodles with beef), soybean soup (pretty salty but has lots of vegetables and tofu), marinated beef, marinated pork, marinated chicken, beef ribs, mussels, shrimp and octopus. The 3 beer really is awesome. I’ve never seen alcohol included into a bundle package.

IMG_9856

Here are the typical Korean appetizers (for free). You get the marinated tofu, kimchi, seaweed, and spicy radish.

IMG_9863

Here we are cooking our food. Some people hate cooking their own food. I think it makes for a very communal experience. Unfortunately, our grill was broken so we had to use the portable one. Not quite as nice for BBQ as there isn’t an open flame. Because of the great ventilation, you don’t smell too bad afterwards but I certainly wouldn’t wear your favourite cardigan to the place.

IMG_9859

This it the Kimchi Mandu for $30.99. Really quite expensive for what it is (kimchi soup, vegetables, and kimchi dumplings) but so very tasty. My friend claims it is the best he has had in Canada.

Overall, Seoul Korean BBQ is probably the best Korean in Calgary. It is a nice communal experience and the BBQ specials are such a good deal (especially with beer).

Seoul Korean BBQ, 4336 Macleod Trail Sw, Calgary, AB, (403) 243-7970, no website.

Korean BBQ Restaurant Seoul on Urbanspoon

~ by Russ on August 27, 2009.

2 Responses to “Seoul Korean BBQ (Calgary) – Best Korean I’ve had in Calgary”

  1. Gotta love Korean BBQ. Dude $70 for that much awesome food!? Nice.

    • It was ridiculous. So much food. I really hope the deal is still on. If so… I for sure will be back during Christmas!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers