Wa’s Sushi (Calgary) – My last great meal in Calgary

There is much to be said about consistency. I’ve had some great meals in my experiences that have been very disappointing one year later. I would honestly prefer an above-average meal 100% of the time than an excellent-meal only 50% of the time. The ideal thing is to have an excellent-meal 100% of the time but this is rare. But it is possible at Wa’s. I’ve eaten here for about 7 years and I have never ever been disappointed. It looks like a hole-in-the-wall but sushi here is fantastic. I reviewed their ramen in an earlier post.

On my last day in Calgary, I won a lifetime achievement award from a local weekend school where I volunteered for many years. It was weird going back and having them call me doctor. I received a trophy and a $100 scholarship that I decided I would share with my friends. I wanted to try every single roll at Wa’s.

This is plate one in its entirety. How wonderful!

This is the Stampeder roll. It has salmon, avocado, shrimp, capelin roe, cucumber, and tuna. Nothing fancy, just a solid and delicious roll.

This is the spicy tuna roll. What I love is how it isn’t too spicy so that you can still taste the freshness of the tuna. If you want a Red-Roostered-up roll, look elsewhere.

This is the shrimp tempura roll. It has shrimp tempura, avocado and cucumber within. Unremarkable but very tasty.

fe

This is a composite pic of some basic tuna/salmon/tuna with green onion rolls as well as a sunset roll. The sunset roll has shrimp tempura, smoked salmon, lemon, cucumber, and capelin roe. This was one of my favourites. The lemon was really interesting in combination with the smoked salmon. But the real surprise for me was the basic tuna and salmon roll. I couldn’t believe how much fish was inside each of these rolls. Ebisu Lounge in Frankfurt, Germany could learn a thing or two…

Not pictured is plate two, with a masago piece, 5 pieces of Unagi nigiri (huge pieces for $2.50 each), and 5 tuna pieces (once again, huge for $2.20).

Though we didn’t have it today, it is worth mentioning Wa’s lunch special. For $13 dollars, you can get the Sashimi Lunch (served only at lunch time).

fe

It comes with 8 pieces of assorted sashimi or for $15 (two dollars extra), you can get all salmon, all tuna, or half and half.

It also comes with rice, salad (with shrimp), miso soup, a small appetizer, and pickles. It is really a steal of a deal.

I will really miss Wa’s. It is fresh, consistent, delicious. The menu doesn’t really change so you might get bored if you eat here too much (as I do) but I still love it. If you are looking for more inventive sushi, I recommend Misato. But for classic sushi, you can’t find a better place than Wa’s.

Addendum January 2, 2010

I’ve been to Wa’s every time I’ve been back to Calgary. I just can’t go without it. Here are my latest adventures.

The tempura soba. Tempura was pretty bland (but I generally find tempura quite bland and white-washed). The noodles were very tasty though. This soba can get destroyed if you leave it too long in the soy broth! By the time J gave it to me (we were sharing), the noodles had lost their edge. Grrr. Not a great deal for $13. I probably wouldn’t get this dish again.

The Sansai Udon as part of the Wa’s Lunch ($20 for fish, rice, noodles, soup). Getting this Udon was a $2 upgrade. An interesting dish, with the mountain vegetables being very pungent. I can’t say I particularly enjoyed the flavours but it was interesting and well worth the try. These noodles don’t get soft as fast as the other udon did.

The second part of Wa’s lunch, a chirashi sushi bowl. Yum. Great fish, great quality, great flavour. I didn’t love the octopus (the suckers put me off) but the scallop was so tasty. You get salmon, red tuna, pollock, fake crab, scallop, octopus.

I love the food at Wa’s. I really do. I will continue to keep coming back every time I go back to Calgary.

Wa’s, 2-1721 Centre St. NW, Calgary, (403) 277-2077, no website

Wa's Japanese on Urbanspoon

~ by Russ on June 26, 2008.

One Response to “Wa’s Sushi (Calgary) – My last great meal in Calgary”

  1. Looks amazing. Btw, I love your blog.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers