Saltlik (Calgary) – Best free steak I’ve ever had.

I’ll keep this brief as I write the MCCQE Part 1 in 2 days. Why am I writing? Because this good weather has made me feel like steak. In November, Jules and myself had dinner with two of my classmates at Saltlik. These two individuals are writing their MCCQE on Friday and are… in Vegas right now. I wish I was that brave.

Saltlik is situated on a nice corner of Stephen Ave. and is easily recognizable because of the strange metallic horse structure parked outside it. It is a steakhouse but for some reason, I don’t really think of it that way. Saltlik, to me, is a place to get baked potatoes (not twice baked, the simple kind). It has seasoning rubbed into the skin, isn’t over baked (such that the skin becomes leathery and tough) and very very large. The potato is fluffy and light. Importantly, it tastes good without needing to be loaded with fixin’s. Go ahead. Try the baked potato. You won’t be sorry. For something that so many restaurants overlook, Saltlik appears to take it quite seriously.

Win and myself ordered the Saltlik burger, something basic, something cheap so that our SOs could gorge on big fat steaks (while sharing with us of course). It is the best way of eating like a pig without looking like one. We ate quite late (9pm) and the charming server (Jules’ words, not mine) informed us that they were out of the burgers but because of the trouble, they were happy to turn our burgers into steak burgers. Steak burgers? Hell yea! I thought he was joking… but he wasn’t.

ffefe

As you can see, he brought out a huge New York Steak on garlic bread, with the tomato, onion, pickle and lettuce on the side. And of course, a baked potato. 10 points for being inventive. Another 10 points for delivering on your promise. Regarding the food itself, once again, the baked potato stands out in my mind more than the meat. Maybe I should start getting the potato by itself… The best part of it all was: we had both of our steaks comped. The stars were aligned that night for Win and myself. We were destined to eat free steak.

Though it wasn’t the best steak I’ve had, it certainly is the best I’ve had at that price point. And I got a cool story to tell too.

Saltlik, 101 – 8ave SW, Calgary, (403) 537-1160, www.saltlik.com

Saltlik on Urbanspoon

~ by Russ on April 29, 2008.

2 Responses to “Saltlik (Calgary) – Best free steak I’ve ever had.”

  1. Definitely went there when I was in Calgary last week! :)

    I wasn’t super hungry (due a whole day’s worth of wandering around and eating), so I ordered the smallest steak with a salad. In retrospect, I really should have gotten one of their awesome HUGE baked potatoes.

    That aside, I had mine done Chicago style and it was delicious! Thanks Russ!

    • I am totally craving a Salt Like potato right now. I am going to get one the moment I get back to Calgary.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers